STScI

Digital positioning

In old times, telescopes were positioned with so-called circular scales, which mapped the celestial coordinate system. The positioning accuracy was increased like a caliper with an angular vernier to then track the...

The darkness returns

The announced electricity price increases seem to be having a positive effect on our evening skies at the moment. Many outdoor lights simply stay off. The darkness of the evening sky, which was already thought to be...

Teachers practice in the school lab

In August, we held a beginners’ course for interested teachers in our school lab. The first goal was the basic operation of the instruments. This included telescope control, taking color images with a digital...

Our first astrophotos in the SchoolLab

In the middle of July we took our first own astrophotographs in the observatory. Before that, we had received an introduction to the controls of the telescope. After taking several pictures of the sun we were already a...

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner

STScI

Der Mond im Smartphone

An unserer Sternwarte tauchen immer wieder clevere Nachwuchsastronomen auf, die Techniken drauf haben, die die alten Hasen nicht auf ihrem Schirm haben. Einer dieser Kollegen hat uns nun mit seinem Smartphone gezeigt...

Widerstand ist zwecklos

Interessieren Dich Sterne und Galaxien? Möchtest Du die Tiefen des Universums mit Teleskopen durchstreifen? Möchtest Du das mit Gleichgesinnten tun und dabei junge Menschen für die Naturwissenschaften begeistern und...

Digitale Positionierung

In alten Zeiten wurden Fernrohre mit sog. Teilkreisen positioniert, die das Himmelskoordinatensystem abbildeten. Die Positioniergenauigkeit wurde dabei wie bei einer Schieblehre mit einem Winkelnonius erhöht um dann das...

Die Dunkelheit kehrt zurück

Die angekündigten Strompreiserhöhungen wirken sich derzeit scheinbar positiv auf unseren Abendhimmel aus. Viele Außenbeleuchtungen bleiben einfach aus. Die bereits verloren geglaubte Dunkelheit des Abendhimmels kehrt...

Cookie Consent mit Real Cookie Banner